IMG_20160305_124317986_HDR.jpg

Pouliche Électrique

canadian painter

/bio

My name is Marilyn Boissonneault, I was born in 1984 in Laval in the province of Quebec in Canada, where I still reside. I did my primary and secondary studies in Laval and Montreal, but without a course focused on art specifically. I did a DEP as a technical assistant in pharmacy and I have been working in this field since 2008.

 

Art has always been a part of my life, and I always find a way to be creative, no matter what life throws at me; by drawing, painting, writing, macrame, jewelry, etc. I've been drawing ever since I could hold a pen and began painting by the end of 2015. I took a few classes and participated in workshops here and there, and in 2017 I went through a full-time session in 2D Animation at Cégep du Vieux Montréal. This area was not for me in the end, but I enjoyed the experience; being surrounded by young and talented artists is enriching and a good lesson of humility.

I'm a huge fan of coffee and good food with friends. I live with my two cats (adoptions, which I am very proud of) and the perfect man (sorry ladies I found him and he is mine hihi). I am also fortunate to be extremely well surrounded and to have friends and family who support me in my projects. I'm a dreamer, but my more rational side is very developed, which allows me to keep my feet on the ground and to be very organized.

I want to highlight an element considered generally negative (skulls and bones, representing death) in a positive and joyful setting (flowers, nature, vibrant colors) in an attempt to reconcile myself with death, and to be able to celebrate it (or at least accept it as a part of life), instead of fearing the void it leaves behind.

Pouliche Électrique

artiste peintre

/bio

Je m'appelle Marilyn Boissonneault, je suis née en 1984 à Laval dans la province de Québec au Canada, où je réside toujours. J'ai fait mes études primaires et secondaires à Laval et Montréal, mais sans parcours concentré sur l'art spécifiquement. J'ai fait un DEP  comme assistante-technique en pharmacie et je travaille dans ce domaine depuis 2008.

 

L'art a toujours fait parti de ma vie, et je trouve toujours une manière d'être créative, peu importe ce que la vie me réserve; par le dessin, la peinture, l'écriture, le macramé, les bijoux, etc. Je dessine depuis que je sais tenir un crayon, et j'ai commencé à peindre à la fin de 2015. J'ai pris quelques cours et participé à des ateliers ici et là, et en 2017 j'ai pris une session à temps plein en Animation 2D au Cégep du Vieux Montréal. Ce domaine n'était pas pour moi en fin de compte, mais j'ai aimé l'expérience; être entourée d'artistes jeunes et talentueux est enrichissant et une bonne leçon d'humilité.

Grande fan de café et de bonne bouffe entre amis, je vis avec mes deux chats (des adoptions, ce dont je suis très fière) et l'homme parfait (désolée mesdames je l'ai trouvé et il est à moi hihi). J'ai aussi la chance d'être extrêmement bien entourée et d'avoir des amis et une famille qui me supportent dans mes projets. Grande rêveuse, mon côté rationnel est par contre très développé, ce qui me permet de garder les pieds sur terre et d'être très organisée. 

 Je souhaite mettre en valeur un élément considéré généralement négatif (crânes et ossements, représentant la mort) dans un cadre positif et joyeux (fleurs, nature, couleurs vibrantes) dans une tentative de me réconcilier avec la mort et de pouvoir la célébrer (ou tout du moins l'accepter comme faisant partie de la vie) au lieu de craindre le vide qu'elle laisse derrière elle.